logo

Star Parties

From common astronomical occurrences to rare cosmic phenomena, join us to learn about our solar system and beyond.

Join SCI staff and members of the Des Moines Astronomical Society to observe celestial objects, colorful double stars and star clusters, meteor showers and more through high-powered telescopes!

2020 Star Parties

  • Friday, January 10, 7:00-9:00 pm at SCI (CANCELLED)
    Full Moon – Full Wolf Moon and Venus
  • Sunday, February 9, 7:00-9:00 pm at Birdland Shelter View map
    Full Moon – Supermoon – Full Snow Moon
  • Saturday, March 7, 8:00-10:00 pm at Ewing Park View map
    Waxing Gibbous Moon and Venus
  • Saturday, April 11, 8:30-10:30 pm at SCI - CANCELLED
    Waning Gibbous Moon and Venus
  • Saturday, April 25, 9:00-11:00 pm at Ashton Observatory - CANCELLED
    Lyrids Meteor Shower
  • Saturday, May 23, 9:30-11:30 pm at SCI
    Young Moon – Orion Nebula, Galilean Moons
  • Sunday, July 5, 9:30-11:30 pm at Ewing Park View map
    Full Moon – Full Buck Moon, Jupiter and Saturn
  • Tuesday, July 14, 9:00-11:00 pm at SCI (Café Sci)
    Jupiter at opposition, Saturn
  • Saturday, August 15, 6:00-11:00 pm at Ewing Park View map
    Perseids Meteor Shower
  • Saturday, October 31, 7:00-9:00 pm at Ewing Park View map
    Full Moon – Blue Moon (very spooky!)
  • Friday, November 13, 6:30-8:30 pm at SCI (Family Night)
    Old Moon, Jupiter and Mars
  • Saturday, December 12, 6:30-8:30 pm at Ewing Park View map
    Geminids Meteor Shower and Old Moon

PLEASE NOTE: Star Parties are weather dependent and are subject to cancellation. Check the SCI website and Facebook for updates on the event.

Star Parties are offered through a partnership with Des Moines Parks & Recreation and volunteers from the Des Moines Astronomical Society. If you are interested in volunteering, please contact volunteer@sciowa.org.

Upcoming Events